MLB Gold Glove Awards: Baseball’s best defensive players in 2018 announced

Major League Baseball's awards season got underway with the reveal of the 2018 Gold Glove winners, handed out to the league's best defensive players.

Managers and coaches voted – but were not allowed to vote for players on their team – and that accounted for 75 percent of the selection process. The other 25 percent was determined by the SABR defensive index, which combines five sources of defensive statistics.

Rockies third baseman Nolan Arenado won the award for the sixth consecutive season, the longest active streak in baseball, while teammate DJ LeMahieu won the award at second base for the third time in his career.

At first base in the National League, there was a tie between Atlanta's Freddie Freeman and Chicago's Anthony Rizzo.

All four Oakland Athletics infielders were finalists, with first baseman Matt Olson and third baseman Matt Chapman each winning the award for the first time.

American League

Catcher: Salvador Perez, Royals (fifth)

1B: Matt Olson, Athletics (first)

2B: Ian Kinsler, Angels/Red Sox (second)

SS: Andrelton Simmons, Angels (fourth)

3B: Matt Chapman, Athletics (first)

LF: Alex Gordon, Royals (sixth)

CF: Jackie Bradley Jr. (first)

RF: Mookie Betts, Red Sox (third)

Pitcher: Dallas Keuchel, Astros (fourth)

National League

Catcher: Yadier Molina, Cardinals (ninth)

1B: Anthony Rizzo, Cubs (second) and Freddie Freeman, Braves (first)

2B: DJ LeMahieu, Rockies (third)

SS: Nick Ahmed, Diamondbacks (first)

3B: Nolan Arenado, Rockies (sixth)

LF: Corey Dickerson, Pirates (first)

CF: Ender Inciarte, Braves (third)

RF: Nick Markakis, Braves (third)

Pitcher: Zack Greinke, Diamondbacks (fifth)

Source: Read Full Article