Peyton Manning unanimously elected to Broncos’ Ring of Fame

Broncos quarterback Peyton Manning has been voted into the team’s Ring of Fame, the team announced Wednesday.

Manning, who will be inducted to the Pro Football Hall of Fame this summer in Canton, Ohio, will be honored during the Broncos’ Week 8 home game against Washington on Oct. 31 at Empower Field. He will be the ring’s 35th member.

“When Peyton arrived in 2012, his impact and standard was felt throughout our team, the entire organization and the community,” Broncos president and CEO Joe Ellis said in a statement. “Coming back from a serious (neck) injury — with a new team in a new city — to not only win MVP but to have one of the greatest single seasons ever by any player was a remarkable feat.

“Peyton defined greatness as a Bronco. We’re thrilled that he will now join the other Broncos legends as our newest Ring of Famer.”

Coach Mike Shanahan, who was voted in last year, will also be honored this season in Week 6 against the Raiders. At that Oct. 17 game, Shanahan will go into the Ring of Fame, Steve Atwater will receive his Hall of Fame ring and both Manning and John Lynch will be recognized for their election to Canton.

Manning joins cornerback Champ Bailey as the only Broncos to be inducted to the Hall of Fame and the team’s Ring of Fame in the same year.

Signed by the Broncos as a free agent in March 2012, Manning started 57 games in the regular season (45-12 record) and had 140 touchdowns and 53 interceptions. He won the 2013 NFL MVP award with a record 55 touchdown passes.

Broncos linebacker Von Miller said Manning “created a sense of urgency” within the franchise upon his arrival after the veteran missed the 2011 season with a neck injury.

“It’s Peyton Manning, so we already knew his reputation around the league when he got here,” Miller said. “The first time I saw him drop back and throw a pass in OTAs, I was like, ‘Yeah, he’s still got it.’”

Manning’s election came following the selection committee’s annual meeting. The six-person committee is made up by Ellis, former GM John Beake, former defensive coordinator Joe Collier, play-by-play announcer Dave Logan, team historian Jim Saccomano, and former play-by-play announcer Larry Zimmer.

Source: Read Full Article