New Year Honours list: Lewis Hamilton knighted after winning seventh F1 title and leading anti-racism drive

Another athlete honoured this year for their work away from sport is former rugby league player Rob Burrow, who has relentlessly campaigned to raise funds and awareness in the fight against Motor Neurone Disease, which he was diagnosed with in 2019. The 38-year-old, who spent his entire career with Leeds Rhinos and represented both England and Great Britain, has been awarded an MBE for services to rugby league and to MND awareness during the Covid-19 pandemic.

It comes just weeks after his former teammate Kevin Sinfield ran seven marathons in seven day on Burrow’s behalf, which generated well in excess of £2.5m.

Former England footballer Jimmy Greaves also receives a long overdue MBE for services to his sport, with the 80-year-old scoring 44 goals in 57 England appearances and representing Tottenham Hotspur, Chelsea and West Ham during a famous career.

Among the other sporting names honoured this year are Maggie Carver, chair of the Racecourse Association and deputy chair of Ofcom, Bob Champion, the former jockey and Grand National winner and founder of the Bob champion Cancer Trust, and the Royal & Ancient Golf Club chief executive Peter Dawson, all of whom received Commanders of the Order of the British Empire (CBEs).

Exeter Chiefs director of rugby Rob Baxter is awarded an Order of the British Empire (OBE) following the club’s Premiership and European rugby double last season, while the club’s 24-year-old captain Joe Simmonds is made an MBE.

Baxter is honoured following Exeter’s success last season

Seven other names are awarded OBEs including National League chairman Brian Barwick and World Snooker Tour and Professional Darts Corporation chairman Barry Hearn, as well as former rugby player Matt Hampson, who is acknowledged for his voluntary and charitable services since being left paralysed from the next down due to a training accident in 2005.

Other names honoured with MBEs include British tennis captain Anne Keothavong, Isle of Man TT motorcycling great John McGuinness, and 1966 World Cup squad member and Wolverhampton Wanderers favourite Ron Flowers.

Source: Read Full Article