Postponed: NASCAR Cup race at Dover rescheduled for Monday because of rain

NASCAR fans will have to wait an extra day to see the Cup race at Dover International Speedway.

Track and series officials announced the Gander RV 400, scheduled to go green shortly after 2 p.m. ET on Sunday, has been postponed until Monday because of persistent rain.

The race is now scheduled to begin at noon ET and will be televised on Fox Sports 1.

Rain began falling early Sunday morning in Dover, Delaware, and continued into the afternoon before officials were finally forced to reschedule the 11th Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series race of the season.

Dover International Speedway does not have lights, so racing at night was not an option. Dover hasn’t held a Monday race since 2007.

NASCAR fans walk on pit road whle rain falls at Dover International Speedway on Sunday. (Photo: Matthew OHaren, USA TODAY Sports)

Monday's forecast looks considerably better. The Weather Channel is calling for partly cloudy skies and temperatues in the high 60s.

Thirty-seven cars are entered in the race and all went through inspection Sunday morning. Four cars — the No. 88 Chevrolet of Alex Bowman, the No. 19 Toyota of Martin Truex Jr., the No. 47 Chevrolet of Ryan Preece and the No. 36 Ford of Matt Tift — failed multiple inspections and will be forced to start at the rear of the field. Preece also had his car chief ejected for this race, while Bowman, Truex and Tift will compete without their race engineers.

Chase Elliott, who won the playoff race at Dover last fall, will start on the pole. Elliott scored his first victory of 2019 last weekend at Talladega Superspeedway.

Seven-time NASCAR champion Jimmie Johnson holds the track record with 11 wins. Mired in a career-long slump, Johnson has not won a Cup Series race since capturing No. 11 at Dover on June 4, 2017.

Here is the lineup for the Gander RV 400 (car number in parentheses):

1. (9) Chase Elliott, Chevrolet

2. (24) William Byron, Chevrolet

3. (42) Kyle Larson, Chevrolet

4. (22) Joey Logano, Ford

5. (88) Alex Bowman, Chevrolet

6. (4) Kevin Harvick, Ford

7. (10) Aric Almirola, Ford

8. (11) Denny Hamlin, Toyota

9. (2) Brad Keselowski, Ford

10. (14) Clint Bowyer, Ford

11. (12) Ryan Blaney, Ford

12. (48) Jimmie Johnson, Chevrolet

13. (19) Martin Truex Jr., Toyota

14. (41) Daniel Suarez, Ford

15. (20) Erik Jones, Toyota

16. (3) Austin Dillon, Chevrolet

17. (95) Matt DiBenedetto, Toyota

18. (21) Paul Menard, Ford

19. (1) Kurt Busch, Chevrolet

20. (17) Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Ford

21. (6) Ryan Newman, Ford

22. (18) Kyle Busch, Toyota

23. (8) Daniel Hemric, Chevrolet

24. (38) David Ragan, Ford

25. (13) Ty Dillon, Chevrolet

26. (34) Michael McDowell, Ford

27. (43) Bubba Wallace, Chevrolet

28. (32) Corey LaJoie, Ford

29. (47) Ryan Preece, Chevrolet

30. (37) Chris Buescher, Chevrolet

31. (00) Landon Cassill, Chevrolet

32. (36) Matt Tifft, Ford

33. (51) Cody Ware, Ford

34. (52) BJ McLeod, Chevrolet

36. (15) Ross Chastain, Chevrolet

37. (27) Reed Sorenson, Chevrolet

Follow Horrow on Twitter @EllenJHorrow

Source: Read Full Article