Who won the NASCAR race yesterday? Complete results from Toyota Save Mart 350 at Sonoma

The winner of Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series race at Sonoma Raceway found racing at home to be oh, so sweet.

Kyle Larson drove to victory in the Toyota/Save Mart 350, his first win at his local track. Larson was born in Elk Grove, Calif., outside Sacramento and about 90 minutes from Sonoma. The driver of the No. 5 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet held off teammate Chase Elliott (that sounds familiar) in a two-lap overtime shootout.   

“Northern California, this will always be home to me even if I live way out on the East Coast now,” Larson told FS1.

Below is more about Larson’s win Sunday, plus the complete results of the race.

Who won the NASCAR race yesterday?

Kyle Larson dominated a race for a second consecutive weekend. He swept all three stages at Sonoma in his follow-up to a four-stage sweep of the Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte Motor Speedway on Memorial Day weekend. 

But even though Larson had the best car Sunday, he wasn’t in the clear until he got ahead of Elliott on the OT restart. Elliott couldn’t pass Larson in the braking zones of the Sonoma road course and Larson took the checkered flag.

Larson’s third win of the year ties him with Martin Truex Jr. for the series lead. Larson also has 11 stage wins, more than twice the number of the next-closest driver, Denny Hamlin’s five.   

NASCAR results from Sonoma

Larson and Elliott have been trading 1-2 finishes the past three weeks. It was Elliott-Larson at Circuit of the Americas and then Larson-Elliott at Charlotte and Sonoma. Hendrick Motorsports actually has had four consecutive 1-2 finishes. Alex Bowman defeated Larson at Dover to start the streak.

The rest of the top five at Sonoma: two-defending race champion Martin Truex Jr., Joey Logano and Kyle Busch. 

Next up for the Cup Series is the annual All-Star Race (8 p.m. ET Sunday; FS1, TSN, MRN), where drivers will compete for a $1 million prize. The race will be at Texas Motor Speedway for the first time. NASCAR moved it there from Charlotte as compensation for Texas losing one of its two points races this season to Circuit of the Americas. The All-Star Open will precede the All-Star Race at 6 p.m. ET (FS1, TSN, MRN).

Source: Read Full Article