England starting XI for Euro 2020 final confirmed with a change of formation

Don’t wait around for updates – sign up for our daily football email newsletter today!

England manager Gareth Southgate has confirmed his team for the Euro 2020 final with Italy.

The Three Lions boss has made one change from the semi-final win over Denmark, with Kieran Trippier replacing Bukayo Saka.

It also means a change in formation as England revert to the 3-4-3 formation which brought last-16 success against Germany.

Jordan Pickford will continue in goal, with John Stones, Harry Maguire and Kyle Walker forming a three-man central defence.

Trippier comes in to provide more defensive assurance on the right, while Luke Shaw retains his place at left-wing-back.

Southgate has resisted the urge to hand Jordan Henderson his first start of the tournament and keeps faith with Kalvin Phillips and Declan Rice in the holding role.

Mason Mount, Raheem Sterling and Harry Kane complete the three-pronged attack as the Three Lions look to win their first major tournament since 1966.

Ben Chilwell, Ben White and Phil Foden, who is unavailable after picking up an injury, are the three players who miss out on the 23-man matchday squad.

Italy, meanwhile, are unchanged from the side that overcame Spain in the semi-final at Wembley on Tuesday.

England XI vs Italy: Pickford; Walker, Stones, Maguire; Trippier, Phillips, Rice, Shaw; Mount, Kane, Sterling.

Italy XI: Donnarumma; Di Lorenzo, Bonucci, Chiellini, Emerson; Barella, Jorginho, Verratti; Chiesa, Immobile, Insigne.

  • England Football Team
  • Euro 2020
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Gareth Southgate

Source: Read Full Article